DR. ALEXANDER RIECK

Dr. Alexander Rieck

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Rieck researches at the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering IAO in Stuttgart and is partner as well as director of the international architectural firm LAVA.

He studied architecture in Stuttgart and Arizona. Afterwards he worked at the Virtual Reality Lab of the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering (IAO) in Stuttgart and examined the optimization of planning methods in virtual spaces. Back in 1998 he started to work on various projects such as the development of future scenarios for the work of the future in the joint research project OFFICE21, building the future in the project FUCON, the Hotel of the Future in the project Future Hotel and the City of the Future in the project MORGENSTADT.

Currently he works as Head of Corporate Projects in the implementation and realization of the research project of “Tomorrow City”.

Parallel to his academic career, he founded in 2007 with his partners Chris Bosse and Tobias Walliser the international architectural firm LAVA with locations in Stuttgart, Berlin, Sydney and Dubai. In addition to the city center of MASDAR, the office develops buildings and districts in Germany, China, Africa and the Arab world. LAVA won the European Architecture Prize 2016.

Alexander Rieck taught at the University of Zurich and the Technical University in Monterrey Guadalajara. He is an expert and BIM member of the advisory bodies of the Chamber of Architects in Baden-Württemberg, the Federal Chamber of Architects and the standardization committee DIN for BIM.

Additionally is Alexander an elected member of the UN expert group to rebuild Syria.

Dr. Alexander Rieck

Dr. Alexander Rieck
Wissenschaftler am Fraunhofer IAO und Partner sowie Direktor des internationalen Architekturbüros LAVA

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Rieck, forscht am Fraunhofer Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation in Stuttgart und ist Partner und Direktor des internationalen Architekturbüros LAVA. 

Er studierte Architektur in Stuttgart und Arizona. Im Anschluss arbeitete er am Virtual Reality Labor des Fraunhofer Instituts für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation (IAO) in Stuttgart unter Anderem an der Optimierung von digitalen Planungsmethoden. Ab 1998 war er an einer Reihe von Zukunftsthemen und Szenarien, wie das Arbeiten der Zukunft im Verbundforschungsprojekt OFFICE21, das Bauen der Zukunft im Projekt FUCON, dem Hotel der Zukunft im Projekt Futurehotel und der Stadt der Zukunft im Projekt MORGENSTADT. Er promovierte 2010 zum Thema: „Wohlbefinden im Arbeitsumfeld“. 

Derzeit liegt der Schwerpunkt der Forschungen im Bereich der digitalen Planung und Fertigung, sowie der Stadt der Zukunft. 

Parallel zu seiner akademischen Laufbahn gründete er zusammen mit den Partnern Chris Bosse und Tobias Wallisser im Jahr 2007 das internationale Architekturbüro LAVA mit den Standorten Stuttgart, Berlin, Sydney und Dubai. Neben dem Stadtzentrum von MASDAR entwickelt das Büro Gebäude und Stadtteile in Deutschland, China, Afrika und dem arabischen Raum. LAVA erhielt den European Architecture Prize 2016. 

Alexander Rieck unterrichtet an der Universität Zürich. Er ist als Experte für BIM Mitglied in den Beratungsgremien der Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg, der Bundesarchitektenkammer und des Normungsausschuss DIN für BIM.